HOME | SITE MAP | SEARCH | CONTACT   Twitter  Facebook

HomeChoiceHomeChoice

DOWNPAYMENT ASSISTANCE LOAN PROGRAM

HomeChoice is a downpayment assistance, second mortgage loan program for qualified borrowers who have a disability or who have a family member with a disability living with them. Funds up to $15,000. HomeChoice combines with Home Advantage first mortgage loan program. One-on-one counseling is required.

GETTING STARTED

The first step is to meet with HomeChoice Lender in your area that has been trained on the HomeChoice program. The HomeChoice Lender will determine if you are eligible for the HomeChoice second mortgage program and will then refer you to a free Homebuyer Education Seminar and a HomeChoice trained Service Provider.  For additional trained lenders or service providers, please email Dietrich.Schmitz@wshfc.org or call 206-464-7139 or 800-767-4663.

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

The HomeChoice Second Mortgage program is a Downpayment Assistance Program for low- to-moderate income people with a disability or who have a family member with a disability living with them and qualify for Home Advantage first mortgage loan program. A 1.00% interest rate on the Downpayment Assistance loan program for first-time homebuyers (borrowers who haven't owned and occupied their primary residence in the past three years).  If you buy in a targeted area you do not have to be a first-time homebuyer. 

MAXIMUM INCOME LIMITS as of 05/04/2016*

King/Snohomish $90,300

Kitsap $78,100

Thurston $73,600

All Other Counties: $73,300

* Other requirements may apply.  Please check with your lender or service provider to verify the limits.  Manufactured homes only allowed with FHA, VA and USDA Rural Development financing.  HomeChoice borrowers also must complete a Commission-sponsored homebuyer education seminar prior to reservation of funds.

BENEFITS

The Program offers up to $15,000 per household in a 1.00% interest, payment deferred second mortgage. Second mortgages are due when home is sold, or if home is refinanced or after 30 years.

PARTICIPATING LENDERS

We would like to thank the following Lenders for their participation in the HomeChoice Downpayment Assistance Program in the last year:  (Verify a mortgage company or individual: www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org)

Absolute Mortgage

Lynda Myrick-Willis, 425-771-2311, Seattle, lwillis@absoluteloans.com

Academy Mortgage

Roxanne Hyatt, 509-340-1958, Spokane, roxanne.hyatt@academymortgage.com 
Kristi LaCroix, 509-340-1962, Spokane, kristi.lacroix@academymortgage.com
Brenda Leech, 253.732.4448, Tacoma, brenda.leech@academymortgage.com 
Mel Patterson, 253-761-2929, Tacoma mel.patterson@academymortgage.com 
Annette Schmidt, 253-347-5052, Tacoma, annette.schmidt@academymortgage.com 
Mark Wrenn, 509-340-1955, Spokane, mark.wrenn@academymortgage.com 

AmericanWest Bank

Christy King, 509-434-3798, Spokane, christy.king@awbank.net
Kimberly McAlpin, NMLS #9916, 509-434-3779, Spokane kmcalpin@awbank.net

Axia Mortgage

Michelle Wickett, 360-791-0513, Lacey, Michelle.wickett@axiahomeloans.com

Banner Bank

Christi Rivera Kile, 509-227-5493, Spokane, ckile@bannerbank.com
Mark Rowley, 509-735-0812, Kennewick, mrowley@bannerbank.com

Bay Equity

Melissa Holt, 253-444-4725, Federal Way, mholt@bayeq.com

Caliber Home Loans

Kim Aldrich, 360-379-1261, Port Townsend, kim.aldrich@caliberhomeloans.com
Jennifer Edwards, 253-592-6058, Tacoma, jennifer.edwards@caliberhomeloans.com 
Jolene Messmer, 425-445-1945, Bothell, jolene.messmer@Caliberhomeloans.com 
Keane Ng, 206-650-4041, Tukwila Keane.Ng@Caliberhomeloans.com
Chequeta Nutt, 360-666-6888, Vancouver, chequeta.nutt@caliberhomeloans.com

Eagle Home Mortgage

Lin Helm, 206-940-7693, Seattle, linhelm@uamc.com
Rich Howard, 425-602-6079, Bellevue, rhoward@eaglehomemortgage.com
Christine Robison, 360-573-4112, Vancouver, crobison@eaglehomemortgage.com

Envoy Mortgage

Laura Wells, MLO-330328, 877-862-8362, Spokane, LWells@EnvoyMortgage.com

Evergreen Home Loans

Laurie Dennison, 425-576-3700, Lynnwood, ldennison@evergreenhomeloans.com
Leslie Girard, 360-260-6979, Vancouver, lgirard@evergreenhomeloans.com
Jennifer Hatch, 360-907-8086, Vancouver, jhatch@evergreenhomeloans.com
Amber Page, 360-731-1163, Silverdale, apage@evergreenhomeloans.com
Paul Scobee, 206-440-1000, Seattle, pscobee@evergreenhomeloans.com 
Kareen Young, 206-304-5114 Federal Way, kyoung@evergreenhomeloans.com
Don Zender, 425-576-3702, Bellevue, dzender@evergreenhomeloans.com

Fairway Independent Mortgage

Mike England, 206-271-3219, Renton, mikee@fairwaymc.com 
Peter Kuzmenko, 253-265-9258, Gig Harbor, pkuzmenko@fairwaymc.com
Phil Ross, 425-260-8999, Gig Harbor, philr@fairwaymc.com

First Security Bank

Nora Aladieff, 253.359.2377, Puyallup, noraa@fsbwa.com

Guild Mortgage

Nanci Denney, 360-630-9000, Seattle, ndenney01@gmail.com
Michael Fornerette, 253-830-2323, Tacoma, mfornerette@guildmortgage.net
Jason Gosser, 425-330-1314, Lynnwood, jasong@guildmortgage.net
Julia Hansen, 509-279-2320 ext. 23, Spokane Valley, jhansen@guildmortgage.net
Ron Hanson, 360-402-4697, Olympia, rhanson@guildmortgage.net
Josh Henry, 360-746-8328, Bellingham, jhenry@guildmortgage.net
Rimma Israyelyan, 425-250-3100,Kirkland, rimmai@guildmortgage.net
Sandi Milohov, 360-270-9192, Vancouver, smilohov@guildmortgage.net
Cristie Stapp, 206-310-3402, Seattle, cstapp@guildmortgage.net

Heritage Bank

Kim Toskey, NMLS# 184361, 425-422-5286, Kim.Toskey@HeritageBankNW.com 

Heritage Home Loans

Ty Windhorst, 509-252-4000, Spokane, ty@hhlnorthwest.com

HomeStreet Bank

Rochelle Gano, 360-696-4266, Vancouver, Rochelle.Gano@homestreet.com

LeaderOne Financial, Inc.

Annika Day-Dunlap, 253-838-5100, Federal Way, AnnikaDunlap@leader1.com

Mountain West

Judy King, 509-879-4367, Spokane Valley, jking@mountainwestbank.com
Jason Northcutt, 509-944-4098, Spokane Valley, jnorthcutt@mountainwestbank.com 

Network Mortgage Services

Angela Cohen, 425-672-2810, Lynnwood, angelac@networkhomeloans.com
Gerri Rasmussen, 425-248-2319, Lynnwood, gerrir@networkhomeloans.com

Prime Lending

Landie Chappell, 509-326-8800, Spokane, landiec@primelending.com

Prospect Mortgage

Michelle Swanson, 425-776-1450, Bothell/Snohomish, Michelle.Swanson@prospectmtg.com

The Advisors Mortgage Banking

Fenja Swope, 509-457-6552, Yakima, fenja.swope@theadvisorsmc.com

Umpqua Bank

Debra McCloud, 360-449-8012, Vancouver, debbiemccloud@umpquabank.com
Angie Stillman, 360-258-3532, Vancouver, angiestillman@umpquabank.com
Terry Wiyrick, 509-842-9558, Spokane terrywyrick@umpquabank.com

Veterans United

Glenn Leach, Puyallup, MLO #112932, 253-617-6200 Ext 7023, Glenn.Leach@VeteransUnited.com

Wells Fargo

Jacqueline Pethers, NMLSR 583067, 509-323-5325, Spokane, Jacqueline.A.Pethers@wellsfargo.com | www.wfhm.com/jacqueline-pethers
Trisha Reiter, NMLSR 140594, (253) 945-1230, Federal Way trisha.r.reiter@wellsfargo.com | www.wfhm.com/trisha-reiter 
Brent Schoeppel NMLSR 404618, 253-274-4905, Tacoma, brent.schoeppel@wellsfargo.com | www.wfhm.com/brent-schoeppel

HOMECHOICE SERVICE PROVIDERS

Adams County

CCCS- Apprisen Financial Advocates, 509-248-5270, www.apprisen.com

Asotin County

Valley Residential Services, Nancy Riggle, 509-522-0400

Benton & Franklin Counties

Consumer Credit Counseling Services, 509-248-5270, www.apprisen.com

Chelan County

CCCS- Apprisen Financial Advocates, 509-248-5270, www.apprisen.com

Clallam & Jefferson Counties

American Financial Solutions, 888-864-8699, www.myfinancialgoals.org

Clark & Skamania Counties

Community Housing Resource Center, 360-690-4496 x100

Ferry County

Rural Resources Community Action, Jan Owens, 509-685-6179, www.ruralresources.org

Franklin & Benton Counties

Consumer Credit Counseling Services, 509-248-5270, www.apprisen.com

Grant & Lincoln Counties

CCCS- Apprisen Financial Advocates, 509-248-5270 www.apprisen.com/

King County

Apprisen Financial, Redmond, Greg 1-800-355.2227 ext 1372
Homestead Community Land Trust, Staff member, 206-323-1227, www.homesteadclt.org
Parkview Services, Marnie Claywell, 206-542-6644 ext 126, or Marc Cote’ 206-542-6644 Ext 128. www.parkviewservices.org
Urban League of Metropolitan Seattle, 800-368-1455

Kittitas County

CCCS- Apprisen Financial Advocates, 509-248-5270, www.apprisen.com

Kitsap, Mason & Grays Harbor Counties

American Financial Solutions, 888-864-8699, www.myfinancialgoals.org

Okanogan County

Okanogan County Community Action, Staff member, 509-422-4041

Pend Oreille County

Rural Resources Community Action, Jan Owens, 509-685-6179, www.ruralresources.org 

Pierce County

Apprisen Financial, University Place, Susan 253-588-1858 x1360
Homeownership Center of Tacoma, Christina 253-627-6560
South Sound Outreach Tacoma, Ashley (253) 593-2111

San Juan County

Opal Community Land Trust, Julie Brunner, 360-376-3191, www.opalclt.org

Snohomish County

Homestead Community Land Trust, Staff member, 206-323-1227, www.homesteadclt.org 
Parkview Services, Marnie Claywell, 206-542-6644 ext 126, or Marc Cote’ 206-542-6644 Ext 128, www.parkviewservices.org

Spokane County

The ARC of Spokane, Theresa Griffith, 509-328-6326, www.arc-spokane.org

Stevens County

Rural Resources Community Action, Jan Owens, 509-685-6179, www.ruralresources.org 

Walla Walla County

Valley Residential Services, Nancy Riggle, 509-522-0400

Whatcom, Skagit & Island Counties

Kulshan Community Land Trust, Staff member, 360-671-5600, x1, www.kclt.org 

Yakima County

CCCS- Apprisen Financial Advocates, 509-248-5270, www.apprisen.com

If there is no Service Provider located in your area, please refer to a service provider in a neighboring county or email Dietrich.Schmitz@wshfc.org.

QUESTIONS

If you have questions about the HomeChoice Downpayment Assistance Loan Program, please contact Dietrich Schmitz at 206-287-4459 or toll free at 800-767-4663, Ext. 459, or by e-mail Dietrich.Schmitz@wshfc.org.

    

  
Home | About | Careers | Commissioners | Housing Washington | Events | My View | Publications  
Homeownership: Homebuyer Programs | Information for Lending and Real Estate Professionals  
Multifamily Housing: 9% Housing Credit | Bond/Tax Credit | 80/20 Bonds | 501(c)(3) Housing  
Special Programs: Energy | Farmer/Rancher | Nonprofit Facilities | Land Acquisition Program  
Property Managers: Asset Management and Compliance  
Information for Investors: Official Statements, Annual Reports, Interim Information
Privacy Notice | Requests for Public Records
Twitter  Facebook
Washington State Housing Finance Commission
1000 Second Avenue, Suite 2700, Seattle, WA 98104-3601
Phone: 206-464-7139 or 800-767-4663
| Fax: 206-587-5113
Contact Us
©1998-2016 All Rights Reserved